Sergei Rachmaninoff: 24 Pr#ludes

Based on the Prélude in C sharp minor Op. 3 No. 2 written in 1892 that quickly became world-famous, Rachmaninoff composed a further two collections of Préludes in the years up to 1910. These were also published as a complete volume in 1911. Based on the corresponding models by Chopin, Scriabin and their great forerunner J.S. Bach they comprise a cycle of 24 Préludes in all major and minor keys, but unlike the other ones are not organised systematically according to keys. A final highlight of late Romantic Piano music, which no pianist can ignore.

Add a review

Please Log in first to post your review.