Franck Sonata Vln Pno A Maj

Franck Sonata Vln Pno A Maj

  • £16.99


Whilst some late works by César Franck have received criticism, the Sonata For Piano and Violin In A Majorof 1886 found a friendly reception among critics and public from the outset. This work is dedicated to Eugène Ysaÿe, who was attracting much attention at the time with his flawless Violin technique. Ysaÿe was so inspired by the Sonata that he promised 'I will play this masterpiece wherever I can find an artistically-minded pianist'. Nothing has changed to the present day regarding the work's continuing popularity, but it was time to revise Henle's previous edition to reflect the latest research. In the intervening period it has been shown that Franck was actively involved in reading the proofs for the printed edition, meaning that the first edition, which contains many differences from the autograph, has become the basis for this new one. The markings of the Violin part of Henle's edition are by Yehudi Menuhin; Daniel Hope has undertaken the changes required by the revised musical text.

Add a review

Please Log in first to post your review.